## **Status of Ratification**

## **CAT Optional Protocol**

Country	Ratification <sup>1</sup>	Entry into force	Article 24 Declaration (Re: Parts III & IV) <sup>2</sup>
Afghanistan			
Albania	1 Oct 2003	22 Jun 2006	
Algeria			
Andorra			
Angola			
Antigua & Barbuda			
Argentina	15 Nov 2004	22 Jun 2006	
Armenia	14 Sep 2006	14 Oct 2006	
Australia	s: 19 May 2009 <sup>3</sup>		
Austria	s: 25 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>		
Azerbaijan	28 Jan 2009	28 Feb 2009	
Bahamas			
Bahrain			

Bangladesh			
Barbados			
Belarus			
Belgium	s: 24 Oct 2005 <sup>3</sup>		
Belize			
Benin	20 Sep 2006	20 Oct 2006	
Bhutan			
Bolivia	23 May 2006	23 Jun 2006	
Bosnia & Herzegovina	24 Oct 2008	24 Nov 2008	
Botswana			
Brazil	12 Jan 2007	12 Feb 2007	
Brunei Darussalam			
Bulgaria	1 Jun 2011	1 Jul 2011	
Burkina Faso	7 Jul 2010	7 Aug 2010	
Burundi			
Cambodia	30 Mar 2007	30 Apr 2007	
Cameroon	s: 15 Dec 2009 <sup>3</sup>		
Canada			
Cape Verde	s: 26 Sep 2011 <sup>3</sup>		

Chad			
Chile	12 Dec 2008	12 Jan 2009	
China			
Colombia			
Comoros			
Congo	s: 29 Sep 2008 <sup>3</sup>		
Cook Islands			
Costa Rica	1 Dec 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Côte D'Ivoire			
Croatia	25 Apr 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Cuba			
Cyprus	29 Apr 2009	29 May 2009	
Czech Republic	10 Jul 2006	10 Aug 2006	
Democratic People's Republic of Korea			
Democratic Republic of the Congo	23 Sep 2010	23 Oct 2010	
Denmark	25 Jun 2004	22 Jun 2006	
Djibouti			
Dominica			

Ecuador	20 Jul 2010	20 Aug 2010		
Egypt				
El Salvador				
Equatorial Guinea				
Eritrea				
Estonia	18 Dec 2006	18 Jan 2007		
Ethiopia				
Fiji				
Finland	s: 23 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>			
France	11 Nov 2008	11 Dec 2008		
Gabon	22 Sep 2010	22 Oct 2010		
Gambia				
Georgia	9 Aug 2005	22 Jun 2006		
Germany	4 Dec 2008	4 Jan 2009	4 Dec 2008	
Ghana	s: 6 Nov 2006 <sup>3</sup>			
Greece	s: 3 Mar 2011 <sup>3</sup>			
Grenada				
Guatemala	9 Jun 2008	9 Jul 2008		

Guinea	s: 16 Sep 2005 <sup>3</sup>			
Guinea-Bissau				
Guyana				
Haiti				
Holy See				
Honduras	23 May 2006	22 Jun 2006		
Hungary				
Iceland	s: 24 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>			
India				
Indonesia				
Iran (Islamic Republic Of)				
Iraq				
Ireland	s: 2 Oct 2007 <sup>3</sup>			
Israel				
Italy	s: 20 Aug 2003 <sup>3</sup>			
Jamaica				
Japan				
Jordan				
Kazakhstan	22 Oct 2008	22 Nov 2008	8 Feb 2010	

Kenya			
Kiribati			
Kuwait			
Kyrgyzstan	29 Dec 2008	29 Jan 2009	
Lao People=s Democratic Republic			
Latvia			
Lebanon	22 Dec 2008	22 Jan 2009	
Lesotho			
Liberia	22 Sep 2004	22 Jun 2006	
Libya <sup>6</sup>			
Liechtenstein	3 Nov 2006	3 Dec 2006	
Lithuania			
Luxembourg	19 May 2010	19 Jun 2010	
Madagascar	s: 24 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>		
Malawi			
Malaysia			
Maldives	15 Feb 2006	22 Jun 2006	
Mali	12 May 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Malta	24 Sep 03	22 Jun 2006	

Mauritania	s: 27 Sep 2011 <sup>3</sup>		
Mauritius	21 Jun 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Mexico	11 Apr 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Micronesia			
Monaco			
Mongolia			
Morocco			
Mozambique			
Myanmar			
Namibia			
Nauru			
Nepal			
Netherlands	28 Sep 2010	28 Oct 2010	
New Zealand	14 Mar 2007	14 Apr 2007	
Nicaragua	25 Feb 2009	25 Mar 2009	
Niger			
Nigeria	27 Jul 2009	27 Aug 2009	
Niue			

Norway	s: 24 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>			
Oman				
Pakistan				
Palau				
Panama	2 Jun 2011	2 Jul 2011		
Papua New Guinea				
Paraguay	2 Dec 2005	22 Jun 2006		
Peru	14 Sep 2006	14 Oct 2006		
Philippines				
Poland	14 Sep 2005	22 Jun 2006		
Portugal	s: 15 Feb 2006 <sup>3</sup>			
Qatar				
Republic of Korea				
Republic of Moldova	24 Jul 2006	24 Aug 2006		
Republic of Montenegro <sup>5</sup>	6 Mar 2009	6 Apr 2009	6 Mar 2009	
Republic of Serbia <sup>4</sup>	26 Sep 2006	26 Oct 2006		
Romania	2 Jul 2009	2 Aug 2009	2 Jul 2009	
Russian Federation				
Rwanda				

Saint Kitts & Nevis			
Saint Lucia			
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines			
Samoa			
San Marino			
Sao Tome & Principe			
Saudi Arabia			
Senegal	18 Oct 2006	18 Nov 2006	
Seychelles			
Sierra Leone	s: 26 Sep 2003 <sup>3</sup>		
Singapore			
Slovakia			
Slovenia	23 Jan 2007	23 Feb 2007	
Solomon Islands			
Somalia			
South Africa	s: 20 Sep 2006 <sup>3</sup>		
South Sudan <sup>7</sup>			
Spain	4 Apr 2006	22 Jun 2006	
Sri Lanka			

Suriname			
Swaziland			
Sweden	14 Sep 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Switzerland	24 Sep 2009	24 Oct 2009	
Syrian Arab Republic			
Tajikistan			
Thailand			
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	13 Feb 2009	13 Mar 2009	
Timor-Leste	s: 16 Sep 2005 <sup>3</sup>		
Togo	20 Jul 2010	20 Aug 2010	
Tonga			
Trinidad & Tobago			
Tunisia	29 Jun 2011	29 Jul 2011	
Turkey	27 Sep 2011	27 Oct 2011	
Turkmenistan			
Tuvalu			
Uganda			
Ukraine	19 Sep 2006	19 Oct 2006	

United Arab Emirates			
United Kingdom of Great Britain & N. Ireland	10 Dec 2003	22 Jun 2006	
United Republic of Tanzania			
United States of America			
Uruguay	8 Dec 2005	22 Jun 2006	
Uzbekistan			
Vanuatu			
Venezuela	s: 1 Jul 2011 <sup>3</sup>		
Viet Nam			
Yemen			
Zambia	s: 27 Sep 2010 <sup>3</sup>		
Zimbabwe			
	61 State parties 22 signatories		4

<sup>1</sup> ARatification@ includes ratification, accession or succession.

<sup>2</sup> In the case of CAT - OPT - Article 24 (re: Parts III and IV), the State has the option of making a declaration in accordance with the terms

of the Convention.

Article 24 provides that upon ratification, a State party may make a declaration postponing the implementation of their obligations under part III (regarding the Mandate of the Subcommittee on Prevention) or part IV (regarding national preventive

mechanisms) of the Protocol for a period of up to three years.

<sup>3</sup> As@ means that the State is a signatory only.

<sup>4</sup> Formerly Yugoslavia. Effective 4 February 2003, the State of Yugoslavia changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. Effective 3 June 2006 the state changed its name again, to Republic of Serbia.

<sup>5</sup> The former Yugoslavia (subsequently Serbia and Montenegro, now known as the Republic of Serbia) had previously signed the CAT Optional Protocol on 25 September 2003. On 3 June 2006, the Republic of Montenegro became an independent state, and subsequently deposited on 23 October 2006 its notification of succession to the treaties to which Serbia and Montenegro was a party or a signatory, as from 3 June 2006.

<sup>6</sup> Formerly Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. In August 2011, the Permanent Mission of Libya notified the Secretary-General of a Declaration by the National Transitional Council of 3 August changing the official name of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya to "Libya" and changing Libya's national flag.

<sup>7</sup> The Republic of South Sudan formally seceded from Sudan on 9 July 2011, as a result of an internally monitored referendum held in January 2011, and was admitted as a U.N. member state by the General Assembly on 14 July 2011.