Status of Ratification CCPR Optional Protocol

Country	OPT Ratification ¹	Entry into force
Afghanistan		
Albania	4 Oct 2007	4 Jan 2008
Algeria	12 Sep 1989	12 Dec 1989
Andorra	22 Sep 2006	22 Dec 2006
Angola	10 Jan 1992	10 Apr 1992
Antigua & Barbuda		
Argentina	8 Aug 1986	8 Nov 1986
Armenia	23 Jun 1993	23 Sep 1993
Australia	25 Sep 1991	25 Dec 1991
Austria	10 Dec 1987	10 Mar 1988
Azerbaijan	27 Nov 2001	27 Feb 2002
Bahamas		
Bahrain		
Bangladesh		
Barbados	5 Jan 1973	23 Mar 1976

Belarus	30 Sep 1992	30 Dec 1992
Belgium	17 May 1994	17 Aug 1994
Belize		
Benin	12 Mar 1992	12 Jun 1992
Bhutan		
Bolivia	12 Aug 1982	12 Nov 1982
Bosnia & Herzegovina	1 Mar 1995	1 Jun 1995
Botswana		
Brazil	25 Sep 2009	25 Dec 2009
Brunei Darussalam		
Bulgaria	26 Mar 1992	26 Jun 1992
Burkina Faso	4 Jan 1999	4 Apr 1999
Burundi		
Cambodia	s: 27 Sep 2004 ⁴	
Cameroon	27 Jun 1984	27 Sep 1984
Canada	19 May 1976	19 Aug 1976
Cape Verde	19 May 2000	19 Aug 2000
Central African Republic	8 May 1981	8 Aug 1981
Chad	9 Jun 1995	9 Sep 1995

Chile	28 May 1992	28 Aug 1992
China		
Colombia	29 Oct 1969	23 Mar 1976
Comoros		
Congo	5 Oct 1983	5 Jan 1984
Cook Islands		
Costa Rica	29 Nov 1968	23 Mar 1976
Côte d'Ivoire	5 Mar 1997	5 Jun 1997
Croatia	12 Oct 1995	12 Jan 1996
Cuba		
Cyprus	15 Apr 1992	15 Jul 1992
Czech Republic	22 Feb 1993	1 Jan 1993 ³
Democratic People's Republic of Korea		
Democratic Republic of the Congo	1 Nov 1976	1 Feb 1977
Denmark	6 Jan 1972	23 Mar 1976
Djibouti	5 Nov 2002	5 Feb 2003
Dominica		
Dominican Republic	4 Jan 1978	4 Apr 1978
Ecuador	6 Mar 1969	23 Mar 1976

Egypt		
El Salvador	6 Jun 1995	6 Sep 1995
Equatorial Guinea	25 Sep 1987	25 Dec 1987
Eritrea		
Estonia	21 Oct 1991	21 Jan 1992
Ethiopia		
Fiji		
Finland	19 Aug 1975	23 Mar 1976
France	17 Feb 1984	17 May 1984
Gabon		
Gambia	9 Jun 1988	9 Sep 1988
Georgia	3 May 1994	3 Aug 1994
Germany	25 Aug 1993	25 Nov 1993
Ghana	7 Sep 2000	7 Dec 2000
Greece	5 May 1997	5 Aug 1997
Grenada		
Guatemala	28 Nov 2000	28 Feb 2001
Guinea	17 Jun 1993	17 Sep 1993
Guinea-Bissau	s: 12 Sep 2000 ²	

Guyana	10 May 1993	10 Aug 1993 ⁴
Haiti		
Holy See		
Honduras	7 Jun 2005	7 Sep 2005
Hungary	7 Sep 1988	7 Dec 1988
Iceland	22 Aug 1979	22 Nov 1979
India		
Indonesia		
Iran (Islamic Republic Of)		
Iraq		
Ireland	8 Dec 1989	8 Mar 1990
Israel		
Italy	15 Sep 1978	15 Dec 1978
Jamaica	3 Oct 1975	23 Mar 1976 ⁵
Japan		
Jordan		
Kazakhstan	30 Jun 2009	30 Sep 2009
Kenya		
Kiribati		

Kuwait Kyrgyzstan	7 Oct 1994	7 Jan 1995
Lao People=s Democratic Republic		/ Juli 1775
Latvia	22 Jun 1994	22 Sep 1994
Lebanon		
Lesotho	6 Sep 2000	6 Dec 2000
Liberia	s: 22 Sep 2004 ²	
Libya ¹⁰	16 May 1989	16 Aug 1989
Liechtenstein	10 Dec 1998	10 Mar 1999
Lithuania	20 Nov 1991	20 Feb 1992
Luxembourg	18 Aug 1983	18 Nov 1983
Madagascar	21 Jun 1971	23 Mar 1976
Malawi	11 Jun 1996	11 Sep 1996
Malaysia		
Maldives	19 Sep 2006	19 Dec 2006
Mali	24 Oct 2001	24 Jan 2002
Malta	13 Sep 1990	13 Dec 1990
Marshall Islands		
Mauritania		

Mauritius	12 Dec 1973	23 Mar 1976
Mexico	15 Mar 2002	15 Jun 2002
Micronesia		
Monaco		
Mongolia	16 Apr 1991	16 Jul 1991
Morocco		
Mozambique		
Myanmar		
Namibia	28 Nov 1994	28 Feb 1995
Nauru	s: 12 Nov 2001 ²	
Nepal	14 May 1991	14 Aug 1991
Netherlands	11 Dec 1978	11 Mar 1979
New Zealand	26 May 1989	26 Aug 1989
Nicaragua	12 Mar 1980	12 Jun 1980
Niger	7 Mar 1986	7 Jun 1986
Nigeria		
Niue		
Norway	13 Sep 1972	23 Mar 1976
Oman		

Pakistan		
Palau		
Panama	8 Mar 1977	8 Jun 1977
Papua New Guinea		
Paraguay	10 Jan 1995	10 Apr 1995
Peru	3 Oct 1980	3 Jan 1981
Philippines	22 Aug 1989	22 Nov 1989
Poland	7 Nov 1991	7 Feb 1992
Portugal	3 May 1983	3 Aug 1983
Qatar		
Republic of Korea	10 Apr 1990	10 Jul 1990
Republic of Moldova	23 Jan 2008	23 Apr 2008
Republic of Montenegro ⁹	23 Oct 2006 ⁹	3 Jun 2006 ⁹
Republic of Serbia ⁶	6 Sep 2001	6 Dec 2001
Romania	20 Jul 1993	20 Oct 1993
Russian Federation	1 Oct 1991	1 Jan 1992
Rwanda		
Saint Kitts & Nevis		
Saint Lucia		

Saint Vincent & the Grenadines	9 Nov 1981	9 Feb 1982
Samoa		
San Marino	18 Oct 1985	18 Jan 1986
Sao Tome & Principe	s: 6 Sep 2000 ²	
Saudi Arabia		
Senegal	13 Feb 1978	13 May 1978
Seychelles	5 May 1992	5 Aug 1992
Sierra Leone	23 Aug 1996	23 Nov 1996
Singapore		
Slovakia	28 May 1993	1 Jan 1993 ⁷
Slovenia	16 Jul 1993	16 Oct 1993
Solomon Islands		
Somalia	24 Jan 1990	24 Apr 1990
South Africa	28 Aug 2002	28 Nov 2002
South Sudan ¹¹		
Spain	25 Jan 1985	25 Apr 1985
Sri Lanka	3 Oct 1997	3 Jan 1998
Sudan		
Suriname	28 Dec 1976	28 Mar 1977

Sweden	6 Dec 1971	23 Mar 1976
Switzerland		
Syrian Arab Republic		
Tajikistan	4 Jan 1999	4 Apr 1999
Thailand		
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	12 Dec 1994	12 Mar 1995
Timor-Leste		
Togo	30 Mar 1988	30 Jun 1988
Tonga		
Trinidad & Tobago	14 Nov 1980	14 Feb 1981 ⁸
Tunisia	29 Jun 2011	29 Jul 2011
Turkey	24 Nov 2006	24 Feb 2007
Turkmenistan	1 May 1997	1 Aug 1997
Tuvalu		
Uganda	14 Nov 1995	14 Feb 1996
Ukraine	25 Jul 1991	25 Oct 1991
United Arab Emirates		
United Kingdom of Great Britain & N. Ireland		

United Republic of Tanzania		
United States of America		
Uruguay	1 Apr 1970	23 Mar 1976
Uzbekistan	28 Sep 1995	28 Dec 1995
Vanuatu		
Venezuela	10 May 1978	10 Aug 1978
Viet Nam		
Yemen		
Zambia	10 Apr 1984	10 Jul 1984
Zimbabwe		
	114 State parties; 5 signatories	

- ¹ ARatification@ includes ratification, accession or succession.
- ² As@ means that the State is a signatory only.
- ³ Czechoslovakia had ratified CCPR OPT on 12 March 1991. In a letter dated 16 February 1993, the Government of the Czech Republic notified the Secretary-General that it considered itself bound, as of 1 January 1993, the date of dissolution of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic.
- ⁴ Guyana had initially acceded to the Optional Protocol on 10 May 1993. On 5 January 1999, the government of Guyana denounced the Optional Protocol with effect from 5 April 1999. On that same date, the Government of Guyana re-acceded to the Optional Protocol with a reservation.

- ⁵ Jamaica had ratified the Optional Protocol on 3 October 1975. Jamaica subsequently denounced the Optional Protocol, effective 23 January 1998.
- ⁶ Formerly Yugoslavia. Effective 4 February 2003, the State of Yugoslavia changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. Effective 6 June 2006, the State again changed its name, to Republic of Serbia.
- ⁷ Czechoslovakia had ratified CCPR OPT on 12 March 1991. In a letter dated 19 May 1993, the Government of Slovakia notified the Secretary-General that it considered itself bound, as of 1 January 1993, the date of dissolution of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic.
- ⁸ Trinidad and Tobago had ratified the Optional Protocol on 14 November 1980. Trinidad and Tobago subsequently denounced the Optional Protocol, effective 27 June 2000.
- ⁹ The former Yugoslavia (subsequently Serbia and Montenegro, now known as the Republic of Serbia) had previously ratified the Optional Protocol to the CCPR on 6 September 2001. On 3 June 2006, the Republic of Montenegro became an independent state, and subsequently deposited on 23 October 2006 its notification of succession to the treaties to which Serbia and Montenegro was a party or a signatory, as from 3 June 2006.
- ¹⁰ Formerly Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. In August 2011, the Permanent Mission of Libya notified the Secretary-General of a Declaration by the National Transitional Council of 3 August changing the official name of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya to "Libya" and changing Libya's national flag.
- ¹¹ The Republic of South Sudan formally seceded from Sudan on 9 July 2011, as a result of an internally monitored referendum held in January 2011, and was admitted as a U.N. member state by the General Assembly on 14 July 2011.