Status of Ratification CESCR OPT

(Not yet in force⁴)

Country	Ratification ¹	Entry into force	Article 10 Declaration ²	Article 11 Declaration ³
Afghanistan				
Albania				
Algeria				
Andorra				
Angola				
Antigua & Barbuda				
Argentina	24 Oct 2011			
Armenia	s: 29 Sep 2009 ⁵			
Australia				
Austria				
Azerbaijan	s: 25 Sep 2009 ⁵			
Bahamas				
Bahrain				
Bangladesh				

Barbados		
Belarus		
Belgium	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Belize		
Benin		
Bhutan		
Bolivia	13 Jan 2012	
Bosnia & Herzegovina	18 Jan 2012	
Botswana		
Brazil		
Brunei Darussalam		
Bulgaria		
Burkina Faso		
Burundi		
Cambodia		
Cameroon		
Canada		
Cape Verde	s: 26 Sep 2011 ⁵	
Central African Republic		

Chad			
Chile	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
China			
Colombia			
Comoros			
Congo	s: 25 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Cook Islands			
Costa Rica	s: 28 Apr 2011 ⁵		
Côte d'Ivoire			
Croatia			
Cuba			
Cyprus			
Czech Republic			
Democratic People's Republic of Korea			
Democratic Republic of the Congo	s: 23 Sep 2010 ⁵		
Denmark			
Djibouti			
Dominica			
Dominican Republic			

Ecuador	11 Jun 2010		
Egypt			
El Salvador	20 Sep 2011	20 Sep 2011	20 Sep 2011
Equatorial Guinea			
Eritrea			
Estonia			
Ethiopia			
Fiji			
Finland	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
France			
Gabon	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Gambia			
Georgia			
Germany			
Ghana	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Greece			
Grenada			
Guatemala	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Guinea			

Guinea-Bissau	s: 25 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Guyana		
Haiti		
Holy See		
Honduras		
Hungary		
Iceland		
India		
Indonesia		
Iran (Islamic Republic Of)		
Iraq		
Ireland	s: 23 Mar 2012 ⁵	
Israel		
Italy	s: 28 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Jamaica		
Japan		
Jordan		
Kazakhstan	s: 23 Sep 2010 ⁵	
Kenya		

Kiribati			
Kuwait			
Kyrgyzstan			
Lao People's Democratic Republic			
Latvia			
Lebanon			
Lesotho			
Liberia			
Libya ⁶			
Liechtenstein			
Lithuania			
Luxembourg	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Madagascar	s: 25 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Malawi			
Malaysia			
Maldives	s: 21 Sep 2011 ⁵		
Mali	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Malta			
Marshall Islands			

Mauritania			
Mauritius			
Mexico			
Micronesia			
Monaco			
Mongolia	1 Jul 2010		
Morocco			
Mozambique			
Myanmar			
Namibia			
Nauru			
Nepal			
Netherlands	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
New Zealand			
Nicaragua			
Niger			
Nigeria			
Niue			
Norway			

Oman		 	
Pakistan			
Palau			
Panama			
Papua New Guinea			
Paraguay	s: 6 Oct 2009 ⁵		
Peru			
Philippines			
Poland			
Portugal	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Qatar			
Republic of Korea			
Republic of Moldova			
Republic of Montenegro	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Republic of Serbia			
Romania			
Russian Federation			
Rwanda			
Saint Kitts & Nevis			

Saint Lucia		
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines		
Samoa		
San Marino		
Sao Tome & Principe		
Saudi Arabia		
Senegal	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Seychelles		
Sierra Leone		
Singapore		
Slovakia	7 Mar 2012	
Slovenia	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Solomon Islands	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵	
Somalia		
South Africa		
South Sudan ⁷		
Spain	23 Sep 2010	
Sri Lanka		
Sudan		

Suriname			
Swaziland			
Sweden			
Switzerland			
Syrian Arab Republic			
Tajikistan			
Thailand			
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia			
Timor-Leste	s: 28 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Togo	s: 25 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Tonga			
Trinidad & Tobago			
Tunisia			
Turkey			
Turkmenistan			
Tuvalu			
Uganda			
Ukraine	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
United Arab Emirates			
United Kingdom of Great Britain & N.			

Ireland			
United Republic of Tanzania			
United States of America			
Uruguay	s: 24 Sep 2009 ⁵		
Uzbekistan			
Vanuatu			
Venezuela	s: 04 Oct 2011 ⁵		
Viet Nam			
Yemen			
Zambia			
Zimbabwe			
	8 State parties 32 signatories	1	1

¹ "Ratification" includes ratification, accession or succession.

- ² In the case of CESCR OPT Article 10, the State has the option of making a declaration that it recognizes the competence of the Committee to receive and consider communications to the effect that a State Party claims that another State Party is not fulfilling its obligations under the Covenant.
- ³ In the case of CESCR OPT Article 11, the State has the option of making a declaration in accordance with Article 11. Under Article 11, a State may make a declaration recognizing the Competence of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

to examine information, or conduct confidential inquiries where the Committee has received reliable information indicating grave or systematic violations by a State party of any of the economic, social and cultural rights set forth in the CESCR.

- ⁴ The Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights was opened for signature on 10 December 2008. The Optional Protocol will enter into force three months after the date of the deposit with the Secretary-General of the United Nations of the tenth instrument of ratification or accession.
- ⁵ "s" means the State is a signatory only.
- ⁶ Formerly Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. In August 2011, the Permanent Mission of Libya notified the Secretary-General of a Declaration by the National Transitional Council of 3 August changing the official name of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya to "Libya" and changing Libya's national flag.
- ⁷ The Republic of South Sudan formally seceded from Sudan on 9 July 2011, as a result of an internally monitored referendum held in January 2011, and was admitted as a U.N. member state by the General Assembly on 14 July 2011.