Status of Ratification

CMW

Country	Ratification ¹	Entry into force	Article 76 Declaration ²	Article 77 Declaration ²	Article 92 Declaration ²
Afghanistan					
Albania	5 Jun 2007	5 Sep 2007			
Algeria	21 Apr 2005	21 Jul 2005			21 Apr 2005
Andorra					
Angola					
Antigua & Barbuda					
Argentina	23 Feb 2007	23 May 2007			23 Feb 2007
Armenia					
Australia					
Austria					
Azerbaijan	11 Jan 1999	1 Jul 2003			
Bahamas					
Bahrain					

Bangladesh	24 Aug 2011	24 Nov 2011		
Barbados				
Belarus				
Belgium				
Belize	14 Nov 2001	1 Jul 2003		
Benin	s: 15 Sep 2005 ³			
Bhutan				
Bolivia	16 Oct 2000	1 Jul 2003		
Bosnia & Herzegovina	13 Dec 1996	1 Jul 2003		
Botswana				
Brazil				
Brunei Darussalam				
Bulgaria				
Burkina Faso	26 Nov 2003	26 Feb 2004		
Burundi				
Cambodia	s: 27 Sep 2004 ³			
Cameroon	<i>s: 15 Dec 2009</i> ³			
Canada				
Cape Verde	16 Sep 1997	1 Jul 2003		

Central African Republic				
Chad				
Chile	21 Mar 2005	21 Jun 2005		
China				
Colombia	24 May 1995	1 Jul 2003		
Comoros	s: 22 Sep 2000 ³			
Congo	s: 29 Sep 2008 ³			
Cook Islands				
Costa Rica				
Côte d'Ivoire				
Croatia				
Cuba				
Cyprus				
Czech Republic				
Democratic People's Republic of Korea				
Democratic Republic of the Congo				
Denmark				
Djibouti				
Dominica				

Dominican Republic					
Ecuador	5 Feb 2002	1 Jul 2003			
Egypt	19 Feb 1993	1 Jul 2003			
El Salvador	14 Mar 2003	1 Jul 2003			14 Mar 2003
Equatorial Guinea					
Eritrea					
Estonia					
Ethiopia					
Fiji					
Finland					
France					
Gabon	s: 15 Dec 2004 ³				
Gambia					
Georgia					
Germany ⁸					
Ghana	7 Sep 2000	1 Jul 2003			
Greece					
Grenada					
Guatemala	14 Mar 2003	1 Jul 2003	11 Sep 2007	11 Sep 2007	

Guinea	7 Sep 2000	1 Jul 2003		
Guinea-Bissau	s: 12 Sep 2000 ³			
Guyana	7 Jul 2010	7 Oct 2010		
Haiti				
Holy See				
Honduras	9 Aug 2005	9 Nov 2005		
Hungary				
Iceland				
India				
Indonesia	s: 22 Sep 2004 ³			
Iran (Islamic Republic Of)				
Iraq				
Ireland				
Israel				
Italy				
Jamaica	25 Sep 2008	25 Dec 2008		
Japan				
Jordan				
Kazakhstan				

Kenya				
Kiribati				
Kuwait				
Kyrgyzstan	29 Sep 2003	29 Dec 2003		
Lao People's Democratic Republic				
Latvia				
Lebanon				
Lesotho	16 Sep 2005	16 Dec 2005		
Liberia	s: 22 Sep 2004 ³			
Libya ⁶	18 Jun 2004	18 Sep 2004		
Liechtenstein				
Lithuania				
Luxembourg				
Madagascar				
Malawi				
Malaysia				
Maldives				
Mali	5 Jun 2003	5 Sep 2003		
Malta				

Marshall Islands				
Mauritania	22 Jan 2007	22 Feb 2007		
Mauritius				
Mexico	8 Mar 1999	1 Jul 2003	15 Sep 2008	
Micronesia				
Monaco				
Mongolia				
Morocco	21 Jun 1993	1 Jul 2003		21 Jun 1993
Mozambique	s: 15 Mar 2012 ³			
Myanmar				
Namibia				
Nauru				
Nepal				
Netherlands				
New Zealand				
Nicaragua	26 Oct 2005	26 Jan 2006		
Niger	18 Mar 2009	18 Jun 2009		
Nigeria	27 Jul 2009	27 Oct 2009		
Niue				

Norway				
Oman				
Pakistan				
Palau	s: 20 Sep 2011 ³			
Panama				
Papua New Guinea				
Paraguay	23 Sep 2008	23 Dec 2008		
Peru	14 Sep 2005	14 Dec 2005		
Philippines	5 Jul 1995	1 Jul 2003		
Poland				
Portugal				
Qatar				
Republic of Korea				
Republic of Moldova				
Republic of Montenegro ⁵	s: 23 Oct 2006 ^{3,5}			
Republic of Serbia ⁴	s: 11 Nov 2004 ³			
Romania				
Russian Federation				
Rwanda	15 Dec 2008	15 Mar 2009		

Saint Kitts & Nevis				
Saint Lucia				
Saint Vincent & the Grenadines	29 Oct 2010	29 Jan 2011		
Samoa				
San Marino				
Sao Tome & Principe	s: 6 Sep 2000 ³			
Saudi Arabia				
Senegal	9 Jun 1999	1 Jul 2003		
Seychelles	15 Dec 1994	1 Jul 2003		
Sierra Leone	s: 15 Sep 2000 ³			
Singapore				
Slovakia				
Slovenia				
Solomon Islands				
Somalia				
South Africa				
South Sudan ⁷				
Spain				
Sri Lanka	11 Mar 1996	1 Jul 2003		

Sudan				
Suriname				
Swaziland				
Sweden				
Switzerland				
Syrian Arab Republic	2 Jun 2005	2 Sep 2005		
Tajikistan	8 Jan 2002	1 Jul 2003		
Thailand				
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia				
Timor-Leste	30 Jan 2004	30 Apr 2004		
Togo	s: 15 Nov 2001 ³			
Tonga				
Trinidad & Tobago				
Tunisia				
Turkey	27 Sep 2004	27 Dec 2004		
Turkmenistan				
Tuvalu				
Uganda	14 Nov 1995	1 Jul 2003		
Ukraine				

United Arab Emirates					
United Kingdom of Great Britain & N. Ireland					
United Republic of Tanzania					
United States of America					
Uruguay	15 Feb 2001	1 Jul 2003			
Uzbekistan					
Vanuatu					
Venezuela	s: 04 Oct 2011 ³				
Viet Nam					
Yemen					
Zambia					
Zimbabwe					
	45 State parties 17 signatories		1	2	4

¹ "Ratification" includes ratification, accession or succession.

² In the case of CMW - Article 76, Article 77 and Article 92, the State Party has the option of making a declaration in accordance with the terms of the Convention.

Article 76 provides for an inter-state complaint mechanism. The CMW may receive and consider communications to the effect that a State Party claims that another State Party is not fulfilling its obligations under the Convention.

Article 77 provides for an individual complaint mechanism. The CMW may receive and consider communications from or on behalf of individuals subject to its jurisdiction who claim to be victims of a violation by a State Party of the provisions of the Convention.

Article 92, Paragraph 1 provides that for any dispute between two or more States parties concerning the interpretation or application of the Convention that is not settled by negotiation, then at the request of one of those State parties, the matter will be submitted to arbitration. If within six months the States parties cannot agree on the organization of the arbitration, then any one of those parties may refer the dispute to the International Court of Justice by request, in conformity with the Statute of the Court. Pursuant to Paragraph 2 of Article 92, each State party may, at the time of signature or ratification, declare that it does not consider itself bound by Paragraph 1 of that Article.

- ³ "s" means that the State is a signatory only.
- ⁴ Formerly Yugoslavia. Effective 4 February 2003, the State of Yugoslavia changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. Effective 3 June 2006 the State changed its name again, to Republic of Serbia.
- ⁵ Serbia and Montenegro (now known as the Republic of Serbia) had previously signed the CMW on 11 November 2004. On 3 June 2006, the Republic of Montenegro became an independent state, and subsequently deposited on 23 October 2006 its notification of succession to the treaties to which Serbia and Montenegro was a party or a signatory, as from 3 June 2006.
- ⁶ Formerly Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. In August 2011, the Permanent Mission of Libya notified the Secretary-General of a Declaration by the National Transitional Council of 3 August changing the official name of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya to "Libya" and changing Libya's national flag.
- ⁷ The Republic of South Sudan formally seceded from Sudan on 9 July 2011, as a result of an internally monitored referendum held in January 2011, and was admitted as a U.N. member state by the General Assembly on 14 July 2011.