#### **ETHIOPIA**

Special Action or Decisions Taken Re: Reporting

CAT A/64/44 (2009)

...

# II. SUBMISSION OF REPORTS BY STATES PARTIES UNDER ARTICLE 19 OF THE CONVENTION

. . .

#### C. Reminders for overdue initial reports

- 28. At its forty-first session, the Committee decided to send reminders to all State parties whose initial reports were three or more years overdue (Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, The Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Holy See, Ireland, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Timor-Leste and Turkmenistan).
- 29. The Committee drew the attention of these States parties to the fact that delays in reporting seriously hamper the implementation of the Convention in the States parties and the Committee in carrying out its function of monitoring such implementation. The Committee requested information on the progress made by these States parties regarding the fulfilment of their reporting obligations and on any obstacles that they might be facing in that respect. It also informed them that, according to rule 65 of its rules of procedure, the Committee might proceed with a review of the implementation of the Convention in the State party in the absence of a report, and that such review would be carried out on the basis of information that may be available to the Committee, including sources from outside the United Nations.

• • •

### CAT A/65/44 (2010)

...

## II. SUBMISSION OF REPORTS BY STATES PARTIES UNDER ARTICLE 19 OF THE CONVENTION

...

### C. Reminders for overdue initial reports

40. At its forty-first session, the Committee decided to send reminders to all State parties whose initial reports were three or more years overdue and, following these reminders, six of them submitted an initial report to the Committee: Ethiopia, Ghana, Ireland, Mongolia, the Syrian Arab Republic and Turkmenistan.

...