## **SLOVENIA**

## CEDAW

## **RESERVATIONS AND DECLARATIONS**

## Note

The former Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 17 July 1980 and 26 February 1982, respectively. See also notes 1 under "Bosnia and Herzegovina", "Croatia", "former Yugoslavia", "Slovenia", "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and "Yugoslavia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of [the electronic version on the website of the <u>Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General;</u> http://treaties.un.org/pages/HistoricalInfo.aspx]

[Ed. note: Note 1 under Slovenia is as follows:

Slovenia

Note 1

In a letter dated 1 July 1992, received by the Secretary-General on the same date and accompanied by a list of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, the Government of the Republic of Slovenia notified that:

"When declaring independence on 25 June, 1991 the Parliament of the Republic of Slovenia determined that international treaties which had been concluded by the SFRY [Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia] and which related to the Republic of Slovenia remained effective on its territory (Article 3 of the Constitutional Law on the implementation of the Constitutional Charter on the Independence and Sovereignty of the Republic of Slovenia...). This decision was taken in consideration of customary international law and of the fact that the Republic of Slovenia, as a former constituent part of the Yugoslav Federation, had granted its agreement to the ratification of the international treaties in accordance with the then valid constitutional provisions.

The Republic of Slovenia therefore in principle acknowledges the continuity of treaty rights and obligations under the international treaties concluded by the SFRY before 25 June 1991, but since it is likely that certain treaties may have lapsed by the date of independence of Slovenia or may be outdated, it seems essential that each treaty be subjected to legal examination.

The Government of the Republic of Slovenia has examined 55 multilateral treaties for which [the Secretary-General of the United Nations] ...has assumed the depositary functions. ...[T]he Republic of Slovenia considers to be bound by these treaties by virtue of succession to the SFR Yugoslavia in respect of the territory of the Republic of Slovenia...

Other treaties, for which the Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary and which had been ratified by the SFRY, have not yet been examined by the competent authorities of the Republic of Slovenia. [The Government of the Republic of Slovenia] will inform [the Secretary-General] ...on [its] ...position concerning these treaties in due course."

See also "former Yugoslavia" in [the "Historical Information" section in the electronic version on the website of the <u>Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General</u>; http://treaties.un.org/pages/HistoricalInfo.aspx. For the text in bayefsky.com, see Reservations and Declarations, Yugoslavia].

For information on the treatment of treaty actions by predecessor States and successor States in the status tables, see Part C, "Status tables" of the "Introduction" to [the electronic version on the website of the <u>Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General</u>; http://treaties.un.org/pages/HistoricalInfo.aspx]].

(Note 7, Chapter IV.8, Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General)