$E_{\rm /1998/L.1/Add.1/Corr.1}$ **United Nations** 



Distr.: General 6 May 1998

English only

## Resumed organizational session for 1998

7 and 8 May 1998 Agenda item 7 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

## Election of nine members of the Committee on Economic, **Social and Cultural Rights**

## Note by the Secretary-General

## Corrigendum

Paragraph 3 should read as follows:

At its present session, the Council is to elect nine members of the Committee for a four-year term, beginning on 1 January 1999. The terms of the following members expire on 31 December 1998: Ade Adekuoye (Nigeria), Mahmoud Samir Ahmed (Egypt), Philip Alston (Australia), Virginia Bonoan-Dandan (Philippines), Valeri I. Kouznetsov (Russian Federation), Jaime Alberto Marchan Romero (Ecuador), Eibe Riedel (Germany), Nutan Thapalia (Nepal), Javier Wimer Zambrano (Mexico).

98-12519 (E) 060598 \*9812519\*