

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights

Distr.: General 21 September 2006

Original: English

Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights Twenty-fifth Meeting

Summary record of the 31st meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 7 September 2006, at 10 a.m.

Temporary Chairperson: Mr. Mokhiber	(Representative of the Secretary-General)
Chairperson: Mr. Wenaweser	(Liechtenstein)

Contents

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

Election of the Chairperson

Adoption of the agenda

Election of other officers

Election, in accordance with articles 28 to 34 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights of nine members of the Human Rights Committee to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2006

This record is subject to correction.

Any corrections to the record of this meeting and of other meetings will be issued in a corrigendum.

Corrections should be submitted in one of the working languages. They should be set forth in a memorandum and also incorporated in a copy of the record. They should be sent *within one week of the date of this document* to the Chief, Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza.

The meeting was called to order at 10.30 a.m.

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

1. **The Temporary Chairperson** said that since the last meeting of States parties, Indonesia and Kazakhstan had become parties to the Covenant, Honduras had become party to the Optional Protocol and Canada, Liberia and Turkey had become parties to the Second Optional Protocol. The total number of States parties to the Covenant was 156, of which 105 were also parties to the Optional Protocol and 57 to the Second Optional Protocol.

2. Since 2005, the Human Rights Committee had paid consistent attention to the Secretary-General's call for a streamlining and reform of the treaty reporting system and the Committee plenary in October 2006 was scheduled to discuss the recommendations of its newly established working group on the reform of treaty bodies. The Committee's caseload under the Optional Protocol had been reduced and there were 276 complaints pending. The introduction in July 2005 of rule 93 (3), which authorized the Working Group on Communications to declare decisions inadmissible if all members agreed, had contributed to avoiding a backlog.

3. The Committee's procedure for following up on concluding observations had continued to develop. At its eighty-fifth session in October 2005, the Committee had decided to open the consideration of its follow-up activities on concluding observations to the public. At its March 2006 session in New York, the Committee had established a working group that formulated recommendations for the reinforcement of follow-up activities on Concluding Observations and Views under the Optional Protocol. Those recommendations would be examined by the Committee in October 2006.

Election of the Chairperson

4. **Mr. Olago Owuor** (Kenya) nominated Mr. Wenaweser (Liechtenstein) for the office of Chairperson.

5. Mr. Wenaweser (Liechtenstein) was elected Chairperson by acclamation.

6. Mr. Wenaweser (Liechtenstein) took the Chair.

Adoption of the agenda (CCPR/SP/66)

7. The agenda was adopted.

8. The Chairperson drew attention to rules 2 and 3 of the rules of procedure, contained in document CCPR/SP/2/Rev.1. Rule 2 provided that the credentials of representatives and the names of members of a delegation should be submitted to the Secretary-General not later than one week before a meeting, and that such credentials should be issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs. The content of that rule was communicated to State parties by the Secretary-General in his note of 3 August 2006 but a number of States parties had not yet submitted credentials. States parties were urged to ensure that their credentials were submitted to the Secretary-General in a prompt manner.

9. It was so decided.

Election of other officers

10. **The Chairperson** said that Mr. Soborun (Mauritius), Mr. Romero-Martínez (Honduras), Ms. Malinovska (Latvia) and Ms. Ioannou (Cyprus) had been nominated for the office of Vice-Chairperson.

11. Mr. Soborun (Mauritius), Mr. Romero-Martínez (Honduras), Ms. Malinovska (Latvia) and Ms. Ioannou (Cyprus) were elected Vice-Chairpersons by acclamation.

Election, in accordance with articles 28 to 34 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, of nine members of the Human Rights Committee to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2006 (CCPR/SP/67 and Add.1, 2 and 3)

12. The Chairperson drew attention to the particulars of candidates nominated by States parties to fill the nine vacancies on the Human Rights Committee. The Secretariat had been informed that Argentina, Mozambique and Mali had withdrawn their candidates. Accordingly, there were 20 candidates for the nine seats. He also drew attention to the voting procedure and other relevant provisions of articles 30 and 31 of the Covenant.

13. He invited representatives to elect by secret ballot nine members of the Human Rights Committee.

14. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Mr. Komar (Indonesia), Ms. Nagyi (Hungary), Mr. Flores Monterrey (Bolivia) and Ms. Oubida (Burkina Faso) acted as tellers.

The meeting was suspended at 11 a.m. and resumed at 12.15 a.m.

15. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	154	
Invalid ballots:	1	
Number of valid ballots:	153	
Abstentions:	none	
Number of representatives voting:		
Required majority:		
Required majority: 77 Number of votes obtained: 77		
Mr. Iwasawa (Japan)	127	
Mr. Bhagwati (India)	106	
Ms. Chanet (France)	103	
Ms. Motoc (Romania)	99	
Ms. Wedgwood (United States)	96	
Mr. Kälin (Switzerland)	89	
Mr. Amor (Tunisia)	88	
Mr. Pérez Sanchez-Cerro (Peru)	76	
Mr. Pan Cruz (Uruguay)		
Mr. Salinas Rivera (Chile) 6		
Ms. Majodina (South Africa)	61	
Mr. Villán Durán (Spain)	56	
Mr. Mejía Trabanino (El Salvador)	52	
Mr. El-Mehadbi (Libyan Arab		
Jamhiriya)	51	
Mr. Wieruszewski (Poland)	49	
Mr. Belmahi (Morocco)	45	
Mr. Dede (Nigeria)		
Mr. Mohamed Omer El Mufti (Sudan) 27		
Ms. Diall (Mali)	24	
Mr. Fofana (Guinea)	19	

16. Having obtained the required majority and the largest number of votes, Mr. Iwasawa (Japan), Mr. Bhagwati (India), Ms. Chanet (France), Ms. Motoc (Romania), Ms. Wedgwood (United States), Mr. Kälin (Switzerland) and Mr. Amor (Tunisia) were elected members of the Human Rights Committee.

17. **The Chairperson** said that, as two vacancies remained to be filled, a second round of voting would be held, restricted to the four candidates who had received the highest number of votes while not obtaining the required majority.

18. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Mr. Komar (Indonesia), Ms. Nagyi (Hungary), Mr. Flores Monterrey (Bolivia) and Ms. Oubida (Burkina Faso) acted as tellers.

19. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	152
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	152
Abstentions:	none
Number of representatives voting:	152
Required majority:	77
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Perez Sanchez-Cerro (Peru)	80
Ms. Majodina (South Africa)	77
Mr. Pan Cruz (Uruguay)	56
Mr. Salinas Rivera (Chile)	56

20. Having obtained the required majority, Mr. Perez Sanchez-Cerro (Peru) and Ms. Majodina (South Africa) were elected members of the Human Rights Committee.

The meeting rose at 1.05 p.m.