

Distr.: General 13 July 2012

Original: English

Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women Seventeenth meeting New York, 26 June 2012

Report of the meeting of States parties

- 1. The seventeenth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was held on 25 June 2012.
- 2. As the representative of the Secretary-General, Ms. Maarit Kohonen Sheriff, opened the meeting, delivered an opening statement on behalf of the Secretary-General and presided over the election of the Chair. Mr. James Turpin served as Secretary of the meeting and Ms. Tomoko Iwata and Ms. Ronja Bandyopadhyay provided support from the Office of Legal Affairs. The Permanent Representative of the Bahamas, Paulette Bethel, was elected Chair of the meeting, and Ms. Fatima Alfeine (Comoros), Ms. Yana Boiko (Ukraine) and Ms. Tanisha Hewanpola (Australia) were elected Vice-Chairs, all by acclamation. The provisional agenda (CEDAW/SP/2012/1) was adopted.
- 3. In accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, the States parties elected by secret ballot 11 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, in three rounds of voting. Five current members proposed for re-election received new terms: Ms. Nicole Ameline (France), Ms. Barbara Bailey (Jamaica), Mr. Niklas Bruun (Finland), Ms. Silvia Pimentel (Brazil) and Ms. Xiaoqiao Zou (China). Six candidates were elected to the Committee for the first time: Ms. Noor Al-Malki Al-Jehani (Qatar), Ms. Hilary Gbedemah (Ghana), Ms. Nahla Haidar (Lebanon), Ms. Dalia Leinarte (Lithuania) Ms. Theodora Oby Nwankwo (Nigeria) and Ms. Bianca Pomeranzi (Italy). The list of candidates and their curricula vitae are contained in documents CEDAW/SP/2012/2 and CEDAW/SP/2012/2/Add.1.
- 4. Four candidates withdrew their candidatures prior to the elections, namely Ms. Zohra Rasekh (Afghanistan), Ms. Unity Dow (Botswana), Ms. Mabruka Sherrif Jabril Maidini (Libya), and Mr. Lawrence William Musonda (Zambia).
- 5. No issues were raised under agenda item 6, "Other matters".





