

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 14 March 2006

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2006 10 and 11 May 2006 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of nine members of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

By its resolution 1985/17, the Economic and Social Council decided to 1. establish a Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to undertake functions relating to the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and to assist the Council in fulfilling its responsibilities under the Covenant. The current membership of the Committee is given in the annex to the present note.

The term of office of the following members will expire on 31 December 2006: 2. Clement Atangana (Cameroon), Virginia Bonoan-Dandan (Philippines), Arundhati Ghose (India), Maria Virginia Bras Gomes (Portugal), Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria), Yuri Kolosov (Russian Federation), Jaime Marchan Romero (Ecuador), Eibe Riedel (Germany) and Alvaro Tirado Mejia (Colombia).

In 2006, the Council is to elect nine members of the Committee for a four-year 3. term, beginning on 1 January 2007. In a note verbale dated 23 December 2005, the Secretary-General invited States parties to the Covenant to submit their nominations for membership in the Committee. A list of the persons nominated, along with their biographical information, will be issued in document E/2006/9/Add.17.

The regional distribution of vacant seats to be filled by the Council is 4. presented in the table below. It is calculated in accordance with Council resolution 1985/17, subparagraph (b), which specifies that, of the 18 seats on the Committee, 15 seats will be equally distributed among the regional groups, while the additional 3 seats will be allocated in accordance with the increase in the total number of States parties per regional group. As of 10 May 2006, the Covenant will have

06-27154 (E) 300306

0627154

entered into force for 152 States parties.¹ Their distribution by regional group is presented below (in column *a*), together with the number of seats to be allocated to each region according to resolution 1985/17 (column *b*). For each regional group, deducting from the number of seats allocated, the number of seats for members whose term ends in 2008 (column *c*) yields the number of vacant seats to be filled by the Council in 2006 (column *d*).

	<i>(a)</i>	<i>(b)</i>	(c)	<i>(d)</i>
Regional group	States parties at 1 March 2005	Seats allocated	Number of seats held (term expiring in 2008)	Number of seats held (term expiring in 2006)
African States	48	4	2	2
Asian States	29	4	2	2
Eastern European States	22	3	2	1
Latin American and Caribbean States	26	3	1	2
Western European and other States	27	4	2	2
Total	152	18	9	9

¹ In addition, the Covenant was ratified by Indonesia on 23 February 2006. In accordance with article 27 (2) of the Covenant, the Covenant enters into force three months after the date of the deposit by a State with the Secretary-General of its own instrument of ratification or instrument of accession. Thus, as the Covenant will enter into force on 26 May 2006, Indonesia may not be included among the States parties for the purposes of the present election.

Annex

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

(18 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2006

	Term expires on 31 December
Mohamed Ezzeldin Adel-Moneim (Egypt)	2008
Clement Atangana (Cameroon)	2006
Rocío Barahona Riera (Costa Rica)	2008
Virginia Bonoan-Dandan (Philippines)	2006
Arundhati Ghose (India)	2006
Maria Virginia Bras Gomes (Portugal)	2006
Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria)	2006
Yuri Kolosov (Russian Federation)	2006
Giorgio Malinverni (Switzerland)	2008
Jaime Marchan Romero (Ecuador)	2006
Sergei N. Martynov (Belarus)	2008
Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay (Mauritius)	2008
Eibe Riedel (Germany)	2006
Andrzej Rzeplinski (Poland)	2008
Waleed M. Sa'di (Jordan)	2008
Yongxiang Shen (China)	2008
Philippe Texier (France)	2008
Alvaro Tirado Mejia (Colombia)	2006