

Distr.: General 19 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008 29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

## Election of nine members of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

#### Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 1985/17, the Economic and Social Council decided to establish a Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to undertake functions relating to the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and to assist the Council in fulfilling its responsibilities under the Covenant. The members are elected from a list of persons nominated by States parties to the Covenant.

2. In 2008, the Council is to elect nine members of the Committee for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2009 to fill vacancies that will occur upon the expiration, on 31 December 2008, of the terms of the following members: Mohamed Ezzeldin Abel-Moneim (Egypt), Rocío Barahona Riera (Costa Rica), Andrzej Rzeplinski (Poland), Sergei N. Martynov (Belarus), Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay (Mauritius), Waleed M. Sa'di (Jordan), Philippe Texier (France), Barbara Wilson (Switzerland) and Zhan Daode (China).

3. In a note verbale dated 12 November 2007, the Secretary-General invited States parties to the Covenant to submit their nominations for membership in the Committee within three months. The names of the persons nominated are set out below, together with the States parties that nominated them. Biographical information on the candidates will be issued in document E/2008/9/Add.11.

Name	Proposed by
Mr. Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim*	Egypt
Ms. María del Rocío Barahona Riera*	Costa Rica
Mr. Zdzislaw Kedzia	Poland
Ms. Ismini <b>Kriari-Catranis</b>	Greece
Mr. Sergei N. Martynov*	Belarus

lame	Proposed by
Mr. Jean-Pierre <b>Mavungu</b> Mvumbi-di-Ngoma	Democratic Republic of the Congo
Ir. Ariranga Govindasamy <b>Pillay*</b>	Mauritius
r. Waleed M. Sa'di*	Jordan
r. Nikolaas Jan <b>Schrijver</b>	Netherlands
: Marc Somda	Burkina Faso
r. Devi <b>Tabidze</b>	Georgia
r. Philippe <b>Texier*</b>	France
r. <b>Zhan</b> Daode*	China

\* Nominated for re-election.

4. Currently, there are 157 States parties to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. The number of States parties by regional group is listed below, together with the number of seats to be allocated to each region in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 1985/17, subparagraph (b):

Regional group	States parties at 12 February 2008	Seats allocated
African States	48	4
Asian States	33	4
Eastern European States	23	4
Latin American and Caribbean States	26	3
Western European and other States	27	3
Total	157	18

5. Accordingly, the number of vacancies in each geographical region to be filled by the Council in 2008 is as follows:

Regional group	Number of vacancies
African States	2
Asian States	2
Eastern European States	2
Latin American and Caribbean States	1
Western European and other States	2
Total	9

6. The current membership of the Committee is given in the annex to the present note.

# Annex

# Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (18 members; four-year term)

### Membership in 2008

	Term expires on 31 December
Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim (Egypt)*	2008
Clément Atangana (Cameroon)	2010
Rocío Barahona Riera (Costa Rica)*	2008
Virginia Bonoan-Dandan (Philippines)	2010
Maria Virginia Bras Gomes (Portugal)	2010
Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (India)	2010
Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria)	2010
Yuri Kolosov (Russian Federation)	2010
Jaime Marchán Romero (Ecuador)	2010
Sergei N. Martynov (Belarus)*	2008
Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay (Mauritius)*	2008
Eibe Riedel (Germany)	2010
Andrzej Rzeplinski (Poland)*	2008
Waleed M. Sa'di (Jordan)*	2008
Philippe Texier (France)*	2008
Alvaro Tirado Mejía (Colombia)	2010
Barbara Wilson (Switzerland)*	2008
Zhan Daode (China)*	2008

\* Retiring member.