

Distr.: General 15 February 2012

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2012 26 and 27 April 2012 Agenda item 4 **Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments**

Election of nine members of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 1985/17, the Economic and Social Council decided to establish a Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to undertake functions relating to the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and to assist the Council in fulfilling its responsibilities under the Covenant. The members are elected from a list of persons nominated by States parties to the Covenant.

2. In 2012, the Council is to elect nine members of the Committee for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 to fill vacancies that will occur upon the expiration, on 31 December 2012, of the terms of the following members: Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim (Egypt), María del Rocío Barahona Riera (Costa Rica), Jun Cong (China), Zdzislaw Kedzia (Poland), Sergei Martynov (Belarus), Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay (Mauritius), Waleed Sa'di (Jordan), Nicolaas Jan Schrijver (Netherlands) And Philippe Texier (France).

3. In a note verbale dated 20 October 2011, the Secretary-General invited States parties to the Covenant to submit their nominations for membership in the Committee within three months. The names of the persons nominated are set out below, together with the States parties that nominated them. Biographical information on the candidates will be provided in document E/2012/9/Add.4.





Name		Proposed by
1.	Mr. Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim*	Egypt
2.	Ms. María del Rocío Barahona Riera*	Costa Rica
3.	Ms. Jun Cong*	China
4.	Mr. Zdzislaw Kedzia*	Poland
5.	Mr. Mikel Mancisidor	Spain
6.	Mr. Sergei Martynov*	Belarus
7.	Mr. Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay*	Mauritius
8.	Ms. Lydia Carmelita Ravenberg	Suriname
9.	Mr. Waleed Sa'di*	Jordan
10	Mr. Nicolaas Jan Schrijver*	The Netherlands
11.	Mr. Mamuka Tsikhelashvili	Georgia

* Nominated for re-election.

4. Currently, there are 160 States parties to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. The number of States parties by regional group is listed below, together with the number of seats to be allocated to each region in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 1985/17, subparagraph (b):

Regional group	States parties as at 15 February 2012	Seats allocated
African States	48	4
Asia-Pacific States	35	4
Eastern European States	23	3
Latin American and Caribbean States	27	4
Western European and other States	27	3
Total	160	18

5. Accordingly, the number of vacancies in each geographical region to be filled by the Council in 2012 is as follows:

Regional group	Number of vacancies
African States	2
Asia-Pacific States	2
Eastern European States	2
Latin American and Caribbean States	1
Western European and other States	2
Total	9

6. The current membership of the Committee is listed in the annex to the present note.

Annex

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

(18 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2012

	Term expires on 31 December
Aslan Abashidze (Russian Federation)	2014
Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim (Egypt)*	2012
Clément Atangana (Cameroon)	2014
María del Rocío Barahona Riera (Costa Rica)*	2012
Jun Cong (China)*	2012
Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (India)	2014
Zdzislaw Kedzia (Poland)*	2012
Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria)	2014
Jaime Marchán Romero (Ecuador)	2014
Sergei N. Martynov (Belarus)*	2012
Ariranga Govindasamy Pillay (Mauritius)*	2012
Renato Zerbini Ribeiro Leão (Brazil)	2014
Eibe Riedel (Germany)	2014
Waleed M. Sa'di (Jordan)*	2012
Nicolaas Jan Schrijver (Netherlands)*	2012
Heisoo Shin (Republic Of Korea)	2014
Philippe Texier (France)*	2012
Álvaro Tirado Mejía (Colombia)	2014

* Retiring member.